Originally designed as the main building of a farm, the house was erected in the 1890s. Part of the building was used by the local fire brigade in 1909–1925. The building was consecrated as a prayer house in 1929, but in time it could no longer be used for this purpose.
The museum was opened in 1992 when the building was bought by the Liljendal homestead association. The Wårkulla homestead house was opened two years later. A new exhibition hall was opened on the same plot in 2000.
The exhibition showcases local agricultural and dairy activities through domestic items and tools. After Hommansby School closed in 2008, a special exhibition of a small classroom was compiled in the homestead house. The premises also feature a fire pump room, a storage building and an old-time privy. The buildings are surrounded by a beautiful garden.
Address Andersbyntie 1, 07870 Andersby, Liljendal
Phone +358 400 911 298
Opening hours July Sun 12-15 At other times by appointment
Entrance fee Voluntary admission fee
Guiding Guidance by appointment