The Mine Museum in central Lohja takes visitors for a guided tour in a genuine mine at a depth of 80 meters. The tour includes the exhibition ”Stone Life”, which describes mining in Lohja, past and present. Visitors can also step to the edge of the over 100 meters wide and 100 meters deep underground mine shaft. The history of mining is illustrated through old mining machines displayed in the tunnels, photos and drawings from different eras, and the colourful stories of a miner’s everyday life, as told by the guides.
Mining has been present in the Lohja area since the 16th century. Lime stone mining on an industrial scale begun in Tytyri mine in 1897. The mine museum was opened in 1988.
The Tytyri hall can be hired throughout the year. More information at www.tytyrinkaivos.fi
Address: Tytyrinkatu, Lohja
Opening Hours: The museum opens for the season 13.4.2015. Guided tours for the public and Group visits and hire of the Tytyri hall for events : See homepage http://palvelut.lohja.fi/tytyrinkaivos/All year, bookings to be made in advance
Enquiries: Lohja Tourist Service Centre +358-(0)44-3691309, tourist(a)lohja.fi
Entrance Fee: Adults 14 €, children 5-16 8€, minimum charge for group visits 90 €.